Anahata and Ajna (c) Eva Dietrich

Earth chakras

I’ve had a few ‘blissed out’ experiences during chakra meditations after yoga practice, so when I heard about Earth Chakras I had to do some exploring.

It also helped that I had a map.

What on earth are earth chakras?

There’s a subtle electrical current that runs around earth – imagine lines of energy similar to how humans have veins. In the west we call them Ley Lines, China calls them Dragon Lines, the Shaman’s in South America know them as Spirit Lines and in Australia the Aboriginals refer to them as Dream Lines.

The points where these Ley Lines intersect happen to be in line with astrological constellations and some of our most sacred places (the Egyptian pyramids, Machu Picchu, Stonehenge and Angkor Wat).

So it seems most of our ancient cultures have some understanding of these energy points. As a believer of ‘listening to the earth’ I’m really interested in these myself and love the idea of Mother Earth having her own chakras.

I also happen to have a yoga map which beautifully illustrates them all, so here they are…

1. Muladhara (the root chakra)

Muladhara (c) Eva Dietrich

The Muladhara, or root chakra, is at Mount Shasta in northern California. It’s part of the cascade mountain range which runs from Northern California up into the Canadian border. Mount Shasta was created from one of the biggest volcanic eruptions on the planet and it’s said that this energy point lays the foundation for expansion in our life – where we ground ourselves and anchor our energy.

2. Svadhisthana (the sacral chakra)

Svadhisthana (c) Eva Dietrich

The Svadhisthana, or sacral chakra, is at Lake Titicaca high in Peru. The Titicaca stone is the geometrical centre for the second Earth Chakra which correlates to the sexual area in the human body.

It’s where you’ll find the centre for the creation of new species and significant evolutionary advances in existing species.

3. Manipura (the solar plexus chakra)

Manipura (c) Eva Dietrich

Manipura, or the solar plexus chakra, lies in Uluru (Ayer’s rock) and the rock formations of Kata Tjuta. They’re still considered sacred ground to the native Aboriginals. It’s believed to be the primary chakra for the maintenance of global health and vitality. In 2020 there’ll be a sacred ritual at Uluru during the Saturn-Pluto conjunction.

4. Anahata (the heart chakra)

Anahata and Ajna (c) Eva Dietrich

Anahata, or the heart chakra, is located at Stonehenge and the surrounding areas of Glastonbury, Somerset, Shaftesbury and Dorset. The Female Great Dragon Ley Line connects Uluru to Stonehenge.

It’s the ideal place for opening your heart to the earth’s energy and allowing peace to flow. You might also find yourself in the middle of a crop circle, which seem to be common here.

5. Vishuddha (the throat chakra)

Vishuddha (c) Eva Dietrich

Vishuddha, or the throat chakra, is marked by the Great Pyramid, Mount Sinai and the Mount of Olives (in Jerusalem). It’s the only energy centre that isn’t connected by the Male or Female Great Dragon Ley Line but is one of the largest energy centres of earth.

It’s considered to be the voice of the earth.

6. Ajna (the third eye chakra)

Anahata and Ajna (c) Eva Dietrich

Ajna, or the third eye chakra, is the only chakra that moves due to the movement of Earth’s axis. It shifts every aeon (150-200 years) and the aeons are lined up with astrological constellations.

In 2012 we moved into the Age of Aquarius – taking the chakra near Stonehenge. When we move into the Age of Capricorn it will go to Brazil. It’s known as the chakra that opens portals to allow extra-dimensional energy into the world.

7. Sahasrara (the crown chakra)

Sahasrara (c) Eva Dietrich

Sahasrara, or the crown chakra, can be found in the holy land of Tibet. Mount Kailas is considered to be the most sacred mountain in the Himalayas. It’s thought that the highly developed consciousness of the Tibetan people comes, in part, from their contact with this highly energetic place.

Many locals harness the energy of Mount Kailas on the night of the Scorpio full moon, which marks the start of a new cycle of energy.

Other high energy points

These seven chakras mark points of very high energy but you can also find high energy levels at the following places:

  • Bermuda triangle
  • Karachi, Pakistan
  • Devil’s sea triangle (Japan)
  • Mount Fuji, Japan
  • Maui, Hawaii
  • Sedona, Arizona
  • Lake Louise, Canada
  • Findhorn, Scotland
  • Kiev, Ukraine
  • Bali, Indonesia
  • Easter Island
  • Angkor Wat, Cambodia
  • Sarawak, Borneo
  • Gabon (West Africa)
  • Capetown, South Africa
  • Lake Traupo, New Zealand


For the information on this post I referred to and the yoga map I bought at

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s